slow cooked oatmeal (6 thumbs up here)

I love coming home from a day at work to a meal ready to go in the crockpot. The house smells wonderful and more importantly, a good dinner is prepared. I’ve been wanting to branch out and try some different things in the old slow cooker, like breakfast, for a while. Last Friday I finally decided it was time to try a recipe I’ve had for a while for slow cooked oatmeal. Who wouldn’t love to have breakfast ready when they wake up? I modified it a bit, so here’s what the recipe ended up being:

4 c water

1 c steel cut oats

1 c dried fruit (I used a mixture of raisins and cherries)

1 t cinnamon

1/2 c milk

1/2 t salt

brown sugar

Spray a crockpot with cooking spray (I forgot to do this, and surprisingly the thing wasn’t a total bear to clean in the morning). I have a 2 qt. crockpot and used that instead of the larger one, but you can use whatever you have. Add the water, oats, dried fruit, cinnamon, milk, and salt. Mix. Cover and cook on low overnight, for 6-8 hours. My smaller crockpot doesn’t have a shut off timer, so I threw it in around 11 and it was perfect for breakfast. Serve in the morning, sprinkled with brown sugar and a splash of milk. We also topped ours with chopped apples and walnuts.

For last Saturday’s breakfast I prepared this recipe in the crockpot using coconut milk. I was too tired to prepare today’s breakfast last night, so I cooked the oats on the stove (using the same ingredients and following the cooking time on the oats package), using almond milk and omitting the dried fruit, per the husband’s request. The verdict: I personally prefer coconut milk, in the crockpot, with dried fruit. It was still very good cooked on the stove top too, but I think I’ll stick to the crockpot. It is just as awesome to wake to the smell of cinnamon and oats in the morning as it is to come home from a long day at work to dinner ready… and I didn’t have to wait for my coffee to kick in to cook breakfast. The little crockpot elves did all the work.

This recipe made enough oatmeal to last us a couple of days. Just refrigerate the leftovers (they may look a little rubbery the next day, but trust me), nuke, add milk, and voila. Oh, and the boys loved this hearty and healthy breakfast too. Oscar asked for “o-meeeeeeeal” for the next several mornings. I think I’ll make a big batch for tomorrow morning with hopes of there being plenty for a few days.

2 responses to “slow cooked oatmeal (6 thumbs up here)

  1. this looks amazing. think i have the stuff on hand to try tonight. thanks for sharing!

    • sarah

      Yum! LOVE oatmeal over here…though it’s usually the instant variety in the canister topped with a bit of cinnamon & brown sugar. This sounds way better! I will try!

Leave a Reply

