fluffernutter flashback

I remember my dad making me a fluffernutter sandwich on a few special occasions.  So when I stumbled upon this pin I knew I had to make fluffernutter sandwich krispies in the very near future. Her recipe just calls for Honey Bunches of Oats, but I did halvsies between that and Rice Krispies.  These babies are delicious, and an easy variation of regular old rice krispie treats (which really need no improving, but I believe in shaking things up from time to time).  Enjoy, but please promise me you’ll sing this song as you make them:

Fluffernutter Sandwich Krispies

1/4 c butter

10.5 oz bag of mini marshmallows

6 cups crispy cereal (Rice Krispies, Honey Bunches of Oats, or a combo)

3/4 c peanut butter

1 c marshmallow fluff

Melt butter in a large saucepan.  Add in marshmallows and stir until they are completely melted.  Remove from heat and stir in cereal.  Spread this mixture evenly into a greased jelly roll pan and press down gently to even it out.  Let this cool.  Cut the krispies in half, and spread half with fluff and the other half with peanut butter.  Sandwich the two sides together and cut into bars.

She says these’ll last in an airtight container for up to 2 days… not in this house.

Leave a Reply

